Under Construction

Recommendations to prevent introduction and spread of coronavirus (COVID-19) in Georgia

Statement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia on the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19)

To prevent introduction and spread of coronavirus (COVID-19) in Georgia, the National Center for Disease Control and Public Health of Georgia advises Georgian citizens against visiting and travelling to countries at high coronavirus epidemic risk: China, Special Administrative Region of China -Hong Kong, Iran, Italy, Republic of  Korea, and other countries with reported cases of COVID-19, as reported by the World Health Organization: Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV) situation reports

Georgian citizens already staying in the countries indicated above are strongly advised to comply with recommendations of the health ministries of the host countries, to keep away from crowded places and to practice good personal hygiene. Where necessary, they can contact Georgia’s consular offices abroad around-the-clock.

Foreign citizens crossing the Georgian border during the given period will be subject to the following   restrictions:

For citizens of Georgia:

  • Citizens of Georgia who have been staying in the territory of Iran for the last 14 days are required to report about this fact, undergo intensive checking procedures and remain in 14-day quarantine;
  • Citizens of Georgia who have been staying in China, Republic of South Korea, Italy, Japan during the last 14 days will be required to report about this fact, undergo intensive checking procedures, wait until the test results become available, follow the decision of healthcare professionals  (quarantine, self-isolation, retreat)  and fully observe their recommendations;

For persons who are not citizens of Georgia:

As part of coronavirus (COVID-19) preventive measures, the Government of Georgia made a decision to impose restrictions on the entry of foreign nationals. The restrictions will become effective from 18 March 2020, 00:00 and will remain in force for two weeks.

The restrictions will apply to any foreign national except:

  1. Representatives of diplomatic missions and international organizations accredited to Georgia and their family members;
  2. Mixed families where one of the spouses or their under-age child is a citizen of Georgia;
  3. Persons arriving in Georgia as part of humanitarian mission – if trip of such mission (doctors, volunteers) to Georgia becomes a necessity;
  4. Individuals who have been granted the status of stateless person by respective authorities of Georgia.
  5. Individuals holding status-neutral travel documents;  
  6. Individuals having a refugee status in Georgia;
  7. The issue of official delegations will be decided on a case-to-case basis.  
To avoid the spread of Coronavirus, please check the links below for the travel advice of WHO:







Occupied Territories of Georgia


eVISA portal